chemeketa students

Chemeketa hosts Willamette Valley Symphony Nov. 12

By Chemeketa Public Affairs

Harp soloist Laura Zaerr

Featured harp soloist Laura Zaerr (photo provided by Sean Paul Mills)

It will be an All-American affair the evening after Veterans Day at the Chemeketa Community College auditorium as the Willamette Valley Symphony presents a performance of American compositions, including two pieces making their world premieres.

The symphony, under the direction of Sean Paul Mills, an instructor in Chemeketa’s music department, will present “Made in America” at 7 pm on Nov. 12. Admission is $10 for adults, $5 for seniors and college students, and free for those 18 and under.

Being played for the first time ever is “Concertino for Harp & Strings” by Harold Owen, professor emeritus of the University of Oregon School of Music. Laura Zaerr will be the piece’s featured harp soloist. Zaerr, an instructor at the University of Oregon, has been featured as a soloist with orchestras throughout Oregon and California.

Also making its world debut is “At the Mountains of Madness” by Scott Gerweck. Gerweck, a Salem resident, is the principal trumpet of the symphony and a music instructor at Ashbook Independent School in Corvallis. The piece is a musical telling of the H.P. Lovecraft 1930s novella of the same name.

In addition to the premiering pieces, the symphony will also perform “Fanfare for the Common Man” by Aaron Copland and “Symphony No. 2 in e minor ‘Gaelic’” by Amy Marcy Cheney Beach, one of the preeminent female American composers.

Beginning 30 minutes prior to the performance, Mills and guest presenters will lead a free discussion on the pieces being presented or whatever else the audience would like to know about the symphony or music.

Tickets are available online at the symphony’s website, Gracewinds Music in Corvallis, Sid Stevens Jewlers in Albany, or at the door one hour prior to the performance.

View the symphony’s promotional video below:


This entry was posted in Community, Event, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.